Can we PLEASE get an update on the nonspherical DEM implementation?

Dear MFiX team, thanks in advance for your response. Can we please get an update on the nonspherical DEM implementation? Are you going to follow the VT route and use a discrete surface representation or use an analytical function for superquadratics? What is the status of the coupling to the MFiX fluid solver (VT has their own in-house CFD code), and how will particle torque from both collision and fluid be calculated for an “unresolved” (fluid cell>> particle size) implementations? Thank you.

I’ve been working with MFiX and NETL people productively for about 15 years. I would hope I would merit the courtesy of a simple reply. :pensive:

Hi George, sorry for the late update. We are using the analytical function for superquadrics instead of discrete surface representation. The superquadric discrete element method (SuperDEM) has been coupled with the fluid solver. Please check the abstract for more information. We have several papers that are under review, once they come out, I will share with you.

https://aiche.confex.com/aiche/2020/meetingapp.cgi/Paper/600881
https://aiche.confex.com/aiche/2019/meetingapp.cgi/Paper/568832

Thank you for the update :grinning: We are at the crux point of deciding how to proceed with non-spherical particles in DEM-CFD. I have a post-doc coming in mid-Oct who is already very expert in MFiX DEM-CFD. Maybe NETL would consider us to be a ‘test bed’ team member? We have always had a fantastic relationship with NETL and I think back on our times working with Jordan, Bill, Jean and everyone with great fondness. But I also appreciate that things have to proceed with quality first. Thanks again for the informative response.