How to find the meaning of a variable in .f file

Hi everyone,

I am studying the codes in ‘.f’ files, finding that not all of the variables are defined before they are called or assigned. So, how to find the defination of a variable that is not defined in the present ‘.f’ files?

I use VS Code to read ‘.f’ files.

Kindly regards

Sorry, this question is a bit unclear, what variable or variables are you referring to?

I am sorry. My question is unclear. I am learning code files that may be related to my topic in order to have more detailed knowledge about the operating mechanism. For example, the file named calc_force_dem_mod.f is one of a module I am interested in. There are many private and shared variables listed in this file. Among them, the private variables are specified together with annotations; however, the shared variables could not be directly understood in the present file because they may be claimed in another files.

(1) For instance, a variable OPTFLAG1 is mentioned but it is hard to find its annotation in calc_force_dem_mod.f, which makes the meaning of OPTFLAG1 hard to be caught.

(2) Similarly, what is the meaning of MAX_PIP_EXIST and why there is another variable called MAX_PIP?

(3) I guess FCHAIN_MIDPOINT refers to the midpoint of a force chain and might be defined in the form of ‘FCHAIN_MIDPOINT(:)’, yet it is ‘FCHAIN_MIDPOINT(:,:)’. So, I would like to get more information about ‘FCHAIN_MIDPOINT(:,:)’.

I am not sure whether a kind of function exists to help searching hundreds of .f files.

Hi. The built-in editor in the MFiX GUI is not (yet) a full development environment with features like “find symbol definition” (this would be a great feature and we may add it in a future version).

There are a few things you can do:

You can go to an Anaconda prompt, go to the MFiX source directory, and use
grep to search:

grep -ir fchain_midpoint