Reaction rate coefficient

Hi,
I am new to MFiX, please how do I incorporate reaction rate coefficients into my reaction stoichiometries? I can’t see where to input them. More so, in an attempt to test-run without the rate coefficient, I keep getting the below error message. Any idea on what went wrong and how to resolve it? Thanks

“ERROR rxn_com_mod.f:600
Error 1100: One or more phases associated with reaction REACTION_1 has specified constant specific heat (C_PG0/Cps0). This is not permitted for reacting phases”.

Did you ever figure out how to fix this error? Because I am getting the same one now!

Hi Amanda

Reaction rates are specified in user-written FORTRAN files usr_rates.f - check the silane_pyrolosis or absorbtion_column tutorials.

The control for keyword c_pg0 is here:

the error message is telling you that instead of Constant you should set specific heat to “Mixture - use MFiX default calaulation”. There are similar controls for the specific heat in the solids phases.

If you are not sure how MFiX keywords are mapped to GUI controls, click the “Search for MFiX Keywords” icon in the top toolbar.

– Charles

Hi Charles!

I see. My solid’s specific heat does say constant; however, I can’t change it. That variable is greyed out, so I can’t switch it to mixture, and I don’t know how to make it available.

I attached my .mfx and usr_rates.f files below.

Thanks a bunch,
Amanda

model.mfx (16.0 KB)
usr_rates.f.txt (584 Bytes)

If you hover over the “Specific heat” label or the input box you will see a help message that says “Requires energy equations”.

I wonder how you got C_PS0 set to 830 without that control enabled. Did you have energy equations enabled at one point, set that value, then disable energy_eq? Otherwise I’m not sure how you got into this situation. Maybe it’s a bug in the GUI?

– Charles