Rotary drum - imposing tangential velocity tutorial

Hi,
I am trying to simulate the rotary drum tutorial - imposing tangential velocity. I am new to this. I believe I am supposed to create a text file with keyframe data(velocity and time) in the same directory as the mfix file.

also, few files are supposed to be used. i searched for those files(usr_mod.f ,…) in mfix source and copied to the same directory. I cant find one of the files,(usrnlst.inc) in the mfix source. Is my approach correct? please confirm

Thanks in advance

Hi,

For a new project, we usually copy the files required to be modified into the project folder. Then compile mfix in project directory but with cmake pointing the original unmodified “source” directory.

From what I see, your usr_init_namelist.f seems to be unmodified meaning that you copied the unmodified source file to the project directory. Is this the case? Therefore, this may not do what you actually wanted. Have you looked into the actual tutorial files in this location?

mfix/tutorials/dem/rotating_drum_3d

1 Like

Thank You. Yes, I did not modify the usr_init_namelist.f file. I am very new to this kind of simulation. It would be very much useful if you could elaborate cmake compiling process. I dont see this in the tutorial file in the mfix website.

From version 20 onwards, MFiX GUI has a built-in code editor which lets you modify Fortran files and handles copying files from the source to the project directory.

You don’t have to use CMake from the command line if you don’t want to - there’s a button in the GUI to compile MFiX.

1 Like

Code editor:

1 Like

Build button:
shot-2020-06-30_17-10-39

1 Like

In general, the mfix solver creation process is done in two steps:

1. Using cmake to let the code know the location of source files, modified files, type of optimization needed, etc. as well as the type of compilers to be used. This process is called configuration and this will in turn will generate a Makefile.