About inlet velocity UDF and divergence problems

Hi everyone,

I met two problems when I studied a tutorial “Pulsating fluidized bed (TFM): Impose fluctuating inlet velocity”.

I had downloaded and read the PDF file from this link 3.11. Advanced Tutorials — MFiX 21.3 documentation, before I began to set through the GUI. Fortunately, the 2D two fluid method (TFM) case ran well. However, when changed it to a 3D DEM one, the solver showed an error message below.

(1) I am not sure how to deal with this issue. Is it caused by the change of dimension (from 2D to 3D) or solver (from TFM to DEM). Do I need to revise the code files? Which lines in code files are wrong?

(2) Which lines in the code files mean the assignment of gas velocity components u_g, v_g and w_g? For example, the gas velocity has three components. How can I confirm that the values in data_kf_0001.txt have been assigned to the y component of the gas velocity? Is the velocity assignment part only in usr1.f (in the zip file below).

My case is attached here in a zip file. Pulsating_fluid_bed_2D_DEM.zip (9.4 KB)

Thank you.

Hi Fei. Are you sure you attached the right files? When I run this case I get 8 errors, but none related to READ_KF.

These are the errors I see:

Error from check_data/check_solids_dem.f:438
Required input not specified: MEW

Error from check_data/check_solids_dem.f:446
Required input not specified: MEW_W

Error from check_data/check_solids_dem.f:458
Illegal or unknown input: MEW_R = 0.0000

Error from check_data/check_solids_dem.f:466
Illegal or unknown input: MEW_RW = 0.0000

Error from check_data/check_solids_dem.f:547
Required input not specified: KN

Error from check_data/check_solids_dem.f:565
Required input not specified: KN_W

Error from check_data/check_solids_dem.f:641
Required input not specified: DES_EN_INPUT(1)

Error from check_data/check_solids_dem.f:683
Required input not specified: DES_EN_WALL_INPUT(1)