How to output the particle positions during the simulation

I’m new to MFix, I’ve just read the user guide but I still don’t understand how to export the particle position, there is no option for the position in output task pane.

Hi BK, welcome to the MFiX forum.

You are correct that particle position is currently not one of the options in “Output” or “Monitors”. We may add this to a future release, since this question comes up from time to time.

It’s always good to search the forum before posting. Searching for “particle position” find this thread:

which explains how to get particle positions from VTP files, as well as this thread:

which discusses how to do this using a UDF approach.

If you have any further questions after reading these, you can follow up here.

Hope this helps,

– Charles

Hello! Thank you for your answer. I have seen that two threads. I am also new to python. I just try to run the code of onlyjus but there is a problem. It says “No module named ‘vtk’”. how can I solve it? Thank you very much!

This is a message from Python telling you that it cannot find the VTK (Visualization Took Kit) library.

If you are running in a Conda environment where MFiX is active (conda activate mfix-21.4) then the VTK library should be available, since MFiX uses VTK for visualization.

If you are trying to do this in some other environment, then you will have to make sure VTK is installed. You can find out how to install VTK, as well as a lot more, at https://vtk.org/

Thank you very much! I have installed the VTK using cmake and Visual Studio 2019, and then i try to run the code of onlyjus in VS2019, it still tell me “ModelNotFoundError:No module named ‘vtk’”. How do I solve this problem?