Import STL file with complex internal structures

Hi All

I am new to Mfix-DEM (19.1.4) and want to investigate 3D particle movement through a geometry with a complex internal structure. I have not seen whether MFix can import external meshes.

To investigate I am trying to import a simplified geometry (with no internals) using a .STL file. Using a single .STL I am unable to properly select the inlet and outlet as BC`s, so decided to split the .STL into 3 parts (walls_external, inlet and outlet) and assigning the respective .STL to the correct regions. The background mesh is clipped to the internal domain, but the fluid boundary conditions gives errors.

Is there an alternative method to import complex geometries, or meshes?

Regards

I’m not exactly certain at what you are trying to do. Let’s assume that your simple geometry is a cylinder and you want flow into the bottom and outflow of the top. You want the cylinder to overhang the top and bottom of the domain extents, then assign those plans, mass inflow and pressure outflow boundary conditions.

Hi Jordan

Attached is the domain of my simplified geometry. The inlet and outlet is extended above the domain, as seen.

The top is set as a pressure outlet, but get the following error. I found a work around by commenting out bc_p_g(3) and changing bc_type(3) from ‘CG_PO’ to ‘PO’ manually, but this only works if there is no overhang.

Screenshot%20from%202019-07-10%2012-03-43

Regards.

can you post your case?

If you define a pressure outlet along a plane region that is located on the overall domain box, you should use ‘PO’, not ‘CG_PO’. It is not recommended to manually edit the .mfx file outside the GUI.

Hi