Some questions about the official tutorial case 3.5: 3D fluidized bed

Hello, colleagues. I have some questions when I studied the official tutorial case 3.5, 3D fluidized bed, in MFiX 21.3 User Manual. Its link is 3.5. Three Dimensional Fluidized Bed — MFiX 21.3.2 documentation.

(1) In this case, when entering the geometry, the hight of the cylinder, with original hight of 0.4 meters, is extended by adding 0.1 meters. In the web page text, it explains that the treatment like this can allow for a sharp and clean cut. How to unstand it? I feel puzzled about it. Is it related to the mesh generated later? Why 0.1 meters is added, not 0.2 or larger size? How to determine the added size?

(2) The suggested time step in the tutorial is 1e-3. However, the computation diverged when I ran the case with the same set ups as shown in the tutorial. It ran well when the time step was decreased to 1e-4. I am not sure why.

(3) I ran this case in the Wnidows operating system. The calculation converged well with single thread. However, it diverged when I used multithreaded computing. What caused this problem? How to deal with this problem, if I want to using multithreading to compute more effectively?

1. If you do not extend it, the intersection where the cylinder and the cap meet won’t be well resolved, see image on the left compared with the image on the right when the cylinder is extended.
  2. I ran this case just now and I didn’t see any initial divergence. It is possible to get some non-convergence during the run, and the time step will automatically decrease. This is usually not a concern. The time step can also go back up if good convergence is achieved.
  3. Not sure about the issue on Windows, it runs fine in SMP on Linux.
1 Like

Hi @Fei -

I ran the tutorial 3.5 with MFiX 21.3.2 on both Linux and Windows to look for problems with SMP on Windows. I obtained essentially the same results on both platforms when running with SMP support enabled/disabled.