Memory Leak/Ram Usage Accumulation from Tutorial 3.5 (3D Fluidized Bed Tutorial Case)

Hi everyone,

I am new to MFiX and I’ve been working with the 3D Fluidized Bed tutorial. I refined the mesh from the default number of cell settings (20, 60, 20 to 30, 90, 30) and I am trying to solve the case in parallel (over four cores).

I am seeing memory usage on my system continually accumulate (from about 3 GB to 32 GB where I need to kill the process). If I stop the simulation and resume from the most recent timestep, the memory usage returns to a low value but again gradually accumulates.

I have tried MFiX version 19.3.1 and 18.1.5, running in batch and interactive mode, and installing and running mfix through anaconda vs compiling from source, but none of these changes have fixed the memory leak issue.

I am building and running the solver using the following commands (or their equivalent for GUI vs batch runs):

• Solver build command: build_mfixsolver -j --dmp -DMPI_Fortran_COMPILER=mpifort
  • Run command: mpirun -np 4 ./mfixsolver -f DES_FB1.mfx NODESI=1 NODESJ=4 NODESK=1

Attached is my .mfx file: 3DFB.mfx (12.6 KB)

Has anyone seen a similar issue or know what the problem might be? I am looking to eventually simulate a more complicated system and it will not be practical to continually stop and start the simulation to work around this.

1 Like

I sometimes saw a same problem but I don’t know how can I solve.

Have you find any solution to address the memory leak?

What compiler and mpi version are you using?

@mohsenclick’s thread is here:

Hi all,

I am facing the same issue, tried both in a HPC and a local machine, either using compilation optiones suggested by @mohsenclick or the the regular compilation (just --dmp -j).
HPC: gfortran 4.8.2 and openmpi 4.0.2, local machine: gfortran 9.2.1 and openmpi 3.1.3.
Tried in mfix-20.3.0 and mfix-20.3.1.